State Requirements

Occupational Therapy Accreditations by State

PDH Academy is an AOTA Approved CE Provider, and is continuously acquiring additional approvals.

StateCE Required (OT/OTA)CE DuePDH Academy Approved/AcceptedNotes
Alabama30 hours / 20 hours4/30 or 10/31 every two years
Alaska24 hours / 24 hours6/30 even years
Arizona20 hours / 12 hoursThe date of original licensure, every two years
Arkansas10 hours / 10 hoursThe last day of the licensee's birth month, every year
California24 hours / 24 hoursThe last day of the licensee's birth month, every two years
Colorado24 hours / 24 hours12/31 even years12 hours may be completed through home study.
Connecticut24 hours / 18 hours7/31 odd yearsOnly ONLINE home study is accepted.
Delaware20 hours / 20 hours7/31 even years10 hours may be completed through home study.
District of Columbia24 hours / 12 hours9/30 odd years
Florida26 hours / 26 hours2/28 odd years12 hours may be completed through home study. Must include 2 hours of Laws & Rules (provided by FL) and 2 hours of Prevention of Medical Errors.
Georgia24 hours / 24 hours3/31 even years12 hours may be completed through home study. Must include 2 hours of Ethics.
HawaiiNONEN/A
Idaho20 hours / 20 hoursThe licensee's birth date, every two years
Illinois24 hours / 24 hours12/31 odd yearsMust include 1 hour of Ethics.
Indiana18 hours / 18 hours12/31 even years
Iowa30 hours / 15 hoursThe 15th day of the licensee's birth month, every two years
Kansas40 hours / 40 hours3/31 odd years20 hours may be completed through home study.
Kentucky12 hours / 12 hours10/31 every year
Louisiana12 hours / 12 hoursThe last day of the licensee's birth month, every year
MaineNONEN/A
Maryland24 hours / 24 hours6/30 every two years16 "OT principles & procedures" hours and 8 "role-related" hours may be completed through ONLINE home study. 12 "OT principles & procedures" hours and 8 "role-related" hours may be completed through CORRESPONDENCE home study.
MassachusettsNONEN/A
Michigan20 hours / 20 hours5/31 every two years10 hours may be completed through home study. Must include 1 hour of Pain and Symptom Management.
Minnesota24 hours / 24 hoursOTs: 2/28, 6/30, or 10/31 every two years; OTAs: 11/30 every two years
Mississippi20 hours / 20 hours4/30 even years7 hours may be completed through home study.
Missouri24 hours / 24 hours6/30 odd years12 hours may be completed through home study.
Montana10 hours / 10 hours6/15 every year
Nebraska20 hours / 15 hours8/1 even years
Nevada12 hours / 12 hours6/30 every year
New Hampshire24 hours / 24 hours12/31 odd years
New JerseyNONEN/A
New Mexico20 hours / 20 hours9/30 every year
New York36 hours / 36 hoursThe last day of the licensee's birth month, every three years24 hours may be completed through home study.
North Carolina15 hours / 15 hours6/30 every yearMust include 1 hour of Ethics.
North Dakota20 hours / 20 hours6/30 even years
Ohio20 hours / 20 hoursOTs: 6/30 odd years; OTAs: 6/30 even years Must include 1 hour of Ethics, Jurisprudence, or Cultural Competence.
Oklahoma20 hours / 20 hours10/31 even years
Oregon30 hours / 30 hours5/1 even years
Pennsylvania24 hours / 2 hours6/30 odd yearsMust include 2 hours of Child Abuse Recognition & Reporting (OTAs ONLY need 2 hours of Child Abuse Recognition & Reporting).
Rhode Island20 hours / 20 hours3/31 even years
South Carolina16 hours / 16 hours3/15 odd years
South Dakota12 hours / 12 hours1/1 every year
Tennessee24 hours / 24 hours12/31 every two years12 hours may be completed through home study. Must include 1 hour of TN OT Law and 1 hour of Ethics.
Texas30 hours / 30 hoursThe last day of the licensee's birth month, every two years
Utah24 hours / 24 hours5/31 odd yearsMust include 2 hours of Ethics.
Vermont20 hours / 20 hours5/31 even years
Virginia20 hours / 20 hoursThe last day of the licensee's birth month, even years
Washington30 hours / 30 hours*The licensee's birth date, every two years*NOTE: CE must be acquired through two or more methods.
West Virginia24 hours / 24 hours12/31 every two years
Wisconsin24 hours / 24 hours*5/31 odd years*NOTE: 10 hours home study = 4 points.
Wyoming16 hours / 16 hours7/31 every year