Social Workers CE Requirements & Approvals

PDH Academy is approved provider for social work continuing education by the National Association of Social Workers (Provider #138298). Our NASW approval is recognized by most states, but not all. View the individual state requirements below.

 

ALABAMA SOCIAL WORKERS

PDH Academy is an Alabama State Board of Social Work Examiners approved provider. Provider #0592

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LBSWs, LCSWs, and LGSWs: Required 30 hours every two year licensing period, 20 of which may be taken by self-directed learning.*

A minimum of 3 hours in ethics beginning January 1, 2017.

LCSWs PIP: Required 50 hours every two year licensing period, 40 of which may be taken by self-directed learning.*

A minimum of 3 hours in ethics beginning January 1, 2017.

*PDH Academy courses are considered self-directed learning.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Alabama State Board of Social Work Examiners at (334)242-5860 or http://socialwork.alabama.gov/PDF/admincode/850-X-8%20Continuing%20Education.pdf for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

ALASKA SOCIAL WORKERS

The Alaska Board of Social Work Examiners accepts courses from any provider who is ASWB and/or NASW approved.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LCSWs, LBSWs, and LMSWs: Required 45 hours every two year licensing period, all of which may be completed by home study.* A maximum of 12 hours per day are allowed.

Initial renewal – Licensees are also required to complete 6 hours in substance abuse, 6 hours in cross-cultural education relating to Alaskan Natives, and 3 hours in ethics.

All other renewals – Licensees are also required 6 hours in substance abuse, 6 hours cross-cultural education, of which 3 hours include issues relating to Alaskan Natives, and 3 hours in ethics.

*PDH Academy courses are considered home study.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Alaska Board of Social Work Examiners at (907) 465-2551 or https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/SocialWorkExaminers/ContinuingEducationCourses.aspx for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

ARIZONA SOCIAL WORKERS

The Arizona Board of Behavioral Health Examiners accepts courses from any provider who is ASWB and/or NASW approved.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LCSWs, LBSWs, and LMSWs: Required 30 hours every two year licensing period, all of which may be home study.*

Beginning January 1, 2018, in addition to the requirement under subsection (C)(1), complete a three clock hour Board-approved tutorial on Board statutes and rules.

A minimum of 3 of the 30 hours must be in behavioral health ethics and law and 3 in cultural competency.

*PDH Academy courses are considered home study.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Arizona Board of Behavioral Health Examiners at (602) 542-1882 or http://www.azbbhe.us/pdfs/Rules/ProposedRules/FINAL%20BOARD%20RULES%20110116.pdf for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

ARKANSAS SOCIAL WORKERS

The Arkansas Social Work Licensing Board accepts PDH Academy’s courses as long as directly related to the licensee’s professional practice.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LCSWs, LMSWs, and LSWs: Required 48 hours every two year licensing period, 20 of which may be taken by independent home study.*

A minimum of 3 of the 48 hours must be in ethics every two year licensing period.

*PDH Academy courses are considered independent home study.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Arkansas Social Work Licensing Board at (501) 372-5071 or http://www.arkansas.gov/swlb/regs/regcontedu.html for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

CALIFORNIA SOCIAL WORKERS

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LCSWs: Required 36 hours every two year licensing period. Beginning July 1, 2015 all 36 hours may be taken through self-study (print) or online courses if offered by an acceptable CE provider. Instead of approving individual providers, the California Board of Behavioral Sciences recognizes continuing education providers approved through the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) and the National Association of Social Workers (NASW).

A minimum of 6 of the 36 hours must be in law and ethics every two year licensing period.

LCSWs: One-time requirement of 7 hours in HIV/AIDS.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the California Board of Behavioral Sciences at (916) 574-7830 or http://www.bbs.ca.gov/licensees/ce_licensees.shtml for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

COLORADO SOCIAL WORKERS

The Colorado State Board of Social Work Examiners accepts PDH Academy’s courses as long as directly related to the licensee’s professional practice.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LCSWs, LISWs, LSWs, and RSWs: Required 40 hours every two year licensing period, 20 of which may be taken in the category of coursework.* The remaining 20 hours may be completed by independent learning.

*PDH Academy courses are considered coursework when the participant reads a course, completes the required test, submits payment, and receives a certificate of completion. Participants may obtain 20 of their required PDH hours through coursework.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Colorado State Board of Social Work Examiners at (303) 894-7766 or https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-K5DhxXxJZbN2wwSTZOZkJ1MGs/view for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

CONNECTICUT SOCIAL WORKERS

The Connecticut Department of Public Health Social Work Regulation accepts courses from any provider who is ASWB and/or NASW approved.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LCSWs: Required 15 hours each annual licensing period, 6 of which may be taken by home study/online.

A minimum of 1 of the 15 hours must be in cultural competency each renewal period. A minimum of 2 hours must be in mental health conditions common to veterans and family members of veterans once every 6 years.

*PDH Academy courses are considered independent home study.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Connecticut Department of Public Health Social Work Regulation at (860) 509-8000 or http://www.ct.gov/dph/cwp/view.asp?a=3121&q=389598&dphNav_GID=1821 for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

DELAWARE SOCIAL WORKERS

The Delaware Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners accepts courses from any provider who is ASWB and/or NASW approved.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LCSWs: Required 45 hours every two year licensing period, all of which may be taken by independent study.*

A minimum of 3 of the 45 hours must be in ethics every two year licensing period.

*PDH Academy courses are considered independent study.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Delaware Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners at (302) 744-4500 or http://regulations.delaware.gov/AdminCode/title24/3900.pdf for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

DIST. COLUMBIA SOCIAL WORKERS

The District of Columbia Department of Health Board of Social Work accepts courses from any provider who is ASWB approved. PDH Academy is approved by NASW and not ASWB, therefore our courses are NOT accepted in DC.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LICSWs, LISWs, LGSWs, and LSWAs: Required 40 hours every two year licensing period, 12 of which may be taken by independent home study.*

A minimum of 6 of the 40 hours must be in ethics (must be face to face) and 3 of the 40 hours must be in HIV/AIDs.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the District of Columbia Department of Health Board of Social Work at (877) 672-2174 or http://doh.dc.gov/sites/default/files/dc/sites/doh/publication/attachments/Chapter%2070socialworkJune.2013.pdf for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

FLORIDA SOCIAL WORKERS

The Florida Board of Clinical Social Work, Marriage & Family Therapy, and Mental Health Counseling accepts courses from any provider who is NASW approved as long as such providers impose requirements similar to or more stringent than those imposed by the Florida Board. PDH Academy is NASW approved and does meet the Florida Board requirements.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LCSWs and CMSWs: Required 30 hours every two-year licensing period, all of which may be taken by home study.* Requirements include:

  • 2 hours in Medical Error Prevention, every renewal;
  • 3 hours in Professional Ethics and Boundaries, every renewal;
  • 2 hours in Domestic Violence, every third renewal;
  • 3 hours in Florida Law and Rules, every third renewal;
  • One-time requirement of 2 hours in HIV/AIDS at initial renewal.

*PDH Academy courses are considered home study.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Florida Board of Clinical Social Work, Marriage & Family Therapy, and Mental Health Counseling at (850) 245-4474 or https://www.flrules.org/gateway/ChapterHome.asp?Chapter=64B4-6 for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

GEORGIA SOCIAL WORKERS

The Georgia Composite Board of Professional Counselors, Social Workers and Marriage & Family Therapists accepts courses from any provider who is ASWB or NASW approved.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LCSWs, and LMSWs: Required 35 hours every two year licensing period, 10 of which may be taken online.*

A minimum of 5 of the 35 hours must be in professional ethics and may not be taken online.*

*PDH Academy courses are considered online.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Georgia Composite Board of Professional Counselors, Social Workers and Marriage & Family Therapists at (478) 207-2440 or http://rules.sos.ga.gov/gac/135-9 for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

HAWAII SOCIAL WORKERS

The Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs: Professional and Vocational Licensing: Social Work Program accepts courses from any provider who is ASWB and/or NASW approved.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LBSWs, LCSWs, and LSWs are required to complete 45 hours every three year licensing period, all of which may be taken by home study.*

A minimum of 3 of the 45 hours must be in ethics every three year licensing period.

*PDH Academy courses are considered home study.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Hawaii Department of Commerce & Consumer Affairs: Professional and Vocational Licensing: Social Work Program at (808) 586-3000 or http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/files/2014/10/SocialWorkerCEPostcardRev1.pdffor additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

IDAHO SOCIAL WORKERS

PDH Academy is NOT an approved provider through the Idaho Chapter of NASW. Therefore our courses are NOT approved in Idaho.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LCSWs, LMSWs, and LSWs: Required 20 hours each annual licensing period, all of which may be taken in Category 1.*

A minimum of 1 of the 20 hours must be in ethics each annual licensing period.

*PDH Academy courses are considered Category 1.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Idaho State Board of Social Work Examiners at (208) 334-3233 or http://www.ibol.idaho.gov/IBOL/BoardAdditional.aspx?Bureau=SWO&BureauLinkID=130 for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

ILLINOIS SOCIAL WORKERS

PDH Academy is an approved provider by the Illinois Division of Professional Regulation. Our approved provider number is 159.001397.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LCSWs and LSWs: Required 30 hours every two year licensing period, 15 of which may be taken in self-study.*

A minimum of 3 of the 30 hours must be in professional ethics and 3 must be in cultural competence in the practice of social work every two year licensing period.

*PDH Academy courses are considered self-study.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Illinois Division of Professional Regulation: Social Work Professions at (217) 785-0800 or http://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/068/068014700000950R.html for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

INDIANA SOCIAL WORKERS

The Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board: Social Work accepts courses from any provider who is ASWB and/or NASW approved.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LCSWs and LSWs: Required 40 hours every two year licensing period, all of which may be taken by home study. (Category 1)*

A minimum of 1 of the 40 hours must be in ethics and professional conduct, including boundary issues every two year licensing period.

*PDH Academy courses are considered home study. (Category 1)

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board: Social Work at (317) 234-2064 or http://www.in.gov/pla/3033.htm for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

IOWA SOCIAL WORKERS

The Iowa Board of Social Work accepts courses from any provider who is ASWB and/or NASW approved.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LBSWs, LISWs, and LMSWs: Required 27 hours every two year licensing period, 12 of which may be taken by independent study.*

A minimum of 3 of the 27 hours must be in ethics every two year licensing period.

*PDH Academy courses are considered independent study.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Iowa Board of Social Work at (515) 281-4422 or https://www.legis.iowa.gov/DOCS/ACO/IAC/LINC/Chapter.645.281.pdf for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

KANSAS SOCIAL WORKERS

PDH Academy meets the continuing education requirements as set forth by the Kansas Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LASWs, LBSWs, LMSWs, and LSCSWs: Required 40 hours every two year licensing period, all of which may be taken by home study.*

A minimum of 3 of the 40 hours must be in ethics. LSCSWs and LMSWs are also required 6 hours in the diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders every two year licensing period.

There is a one-time requirement at initial licensure of 6 hours in social work safety awareness training.

*PDH Academy courses are considered home study.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Kansas Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board at (785) 296-3240 or http://ksbsrb.ks.gov/docs/default-source/regulations/social-workers/102-2-4a.pdf?sfvrsn=4 for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

KENTUCKY SOCIAL WORKERS

The Kentucky Board of Social Work accepts courses from any provider who is ASWB and/or NASW approved.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LCSWs and CSWs: Required 30 hours every three year licensing period, 15 of which may be taken by home study.*

LSWs: Required 15 hours every three year licensing period, 7.5 of which may be taken by home study.*

In addition to the requirements above, all licenses must complete the following:

  • 3 hours of ethics every three year licensing period. Ethics must be completed by a Kentucky Board of Social Work approved provider.
  • 5 hours of pediatric abusive head trauma every 6 years (LCSW and LSW only).
  • 6 hours of suicide assessment, treatment, and management every 6 years.
  • 3 hours of domestic violence during the 3 year cycle following initial licensure.

*PDH Academy courses are considered home study.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Kentucky Board of Social Work at (502) 564-2350 or http://www.lrc.ky.gov/kar/201/023/075.htm for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

LOUISIANA SOCIAL WORKERS

The Louisiana State Board of Social Work Examiners accepts educational offerings sponsored by or approved by social work licensing bodies, state and national professional social work organizations, and schools accredited by the Council on Social Work Education. PDH Academy is NASW approved.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LCSWs, LMSWs, CSWs, and RSWs: Required 20 hours each annual licensing period, 10 of which may be taken by distance learning.*

A minimum 3 hours must be in ethics every two year licensing period.

*PDH Academy courses are considered distance learning.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Louisiana State Board of Social Work Examiners at (225) 756-3470 http://www.labswe.org/page/continuing-education for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

MAINE SOCIAL WORKERS

The Maine State Board of Social Work Licensure does not approve any particular provider or organization. However, our NASW approval may assist the board in making a determination regarding the relevancy of a continuing education activity.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LCSWs, LMSWs, LSWs, and LSXs: Required 25 hours every two year licensing period, 10 of which may be taken by non-interactive distance learning.*

A minimum of 4 of the 25 hours must be in ethics every two year licensing period.

For holders of a conditional licensed social worker license, at least 6 of the 25 contact hours must be earned in social work ethics and at least 6 of the 25 contact hours must be earned in psychosocial assessment.

*PDH Academy courses are considered non-interactive distance learning.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Maine State Board of Social Work Licensure at (207) 624-8676 or http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/02/chaps02.htm#416 for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

MARYLAND SOCIAL WORKERS

The Maryland State Board of Social Work Examiners recognizes and accepts the continuing education approval process conducted by the National Association of Social Workers. PDH Academy is NASW approved.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LCSWs, LGSWs, LSWs, and LCSWs-C: Required 40 hours every two year licensing period, 20 of which may be taken in Category II*, excluding 3 hours in ethics.

A minimum of 3 of the 40 hours must be in ethics every two year licensing period.

LSWA: Required 30 hours every two year licensing period, 15 of which may be taken in Category II*, excluding 3 hours in ethics.

A minimum of 3 of the 30 hours must be in ethics every two year licensing period.

*PDH Academy courses are considered Category II.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Maryland State Board of Social Work Examiners at (877) 526-2541 or http://dhmh.maryland.gov/bswe/Pages/Continuing_ed.aspx for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

MASSACHUSETTS SOCIAL WORKERS

The Massachusetts Board of Registration of Social Workers accepts courses from any provider who is ASWB and/or NASW approved.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LICSWs: Required 30 hours every two year licensing period, all of which may be taken by home study.*

LCSWs: Required 20 hours every two year licensing period, all of which may be taken by home study.*

LSWs: Required 15 hours every two year licensing period, all of which may be taken by home study.*

LSWAs: Required 10 hours every two year licensing period, all of which may be taken by home study.*

*PDH Academy courses are considered home study.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Massachusetts Board of Registration of Social Workers at (617) 727-3073 or http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/licensee/dpl-boards/sw/regulations/rules-and-regs/258-cmr-3100.html for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

MICHIGAN SOCIAL WORKERS

PDH Academy is not an approved provider by the Michigan Board of Social Work. Therefore our courses are NOT approved in Michigan.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LBSWs, LMSWs, and RSSTs: Required 45 hours every three year licensing period, 22.5 hours (one-half) of which may be taken by home study.*

A minimum of 5 hours must be in ethics and 2 hours must be in pain and pain symptom management every three year licensing period. There is also a one-time training requirement in identifying victims of human trafficking.

*PDH Academy courses are considered home study.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Michigan Board of Social Work at (517) 335-0918 or http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/LARA_Social_Work_CE_Brochure_5-11_376437_7.pdf for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

MINNESOTA SOCIAL WORKERS

The Minnesota Board of Social Work accepts courses from any provider who is ASWB and/or NASW approved.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LICSWs, LISWs, LGSWs, and LSWs: Required 40 hours every two year licensing period, 15 of which may be taken by independent study.*

LICSWs: At least 24 of the 40 hours required must be in clinical content

A minimum of 2 of the 40 hours shall be in ethics every two year licensing period.

*PDH Academy courses are considered independent study.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Minnesota Board of Social Work at (800) 234-1320 or https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=148E&view=chapter#stat.148E.130 for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

MISSISSIPPI SOCIAL WORKERS

The Mississippi State Board of Examiners for Social Workers and Marriage & Family Therapists accepts courses from any provider who is ASWB and/or NASW approved for LCSWs, LMSWs, and LSWs.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LCSWs, LMSWs, and LSWs: Required 40 hours every two year licensing period, 20 of which may be taken by distance learning.*

A minimum of 4 of the 40 hours must be in ethics and a minimum of 2 in cultural diversity/multicultural issues/cultural competency.

*PDH Academy courses are considered distance learning.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Mississippi State Board of Examiners for Social Workers and Marriage & Family Therapists at (601) 987-6806 or http://www.swmft.ms.gov/swmft/web.nsf/webpages/rrPage_rrPage/$FILE/new%20clean%20rules%2001-07-13.pdf?OpenElement for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

MISSOURI SOCIAL WORKERS

The Missouri Division of Professional Registration: State Committee for Licensed Social Workers accepts courses from any provider who is ASWB and/or NASW approved.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LBSWs, LCSWs, and LMSWs: Required 30 hours every two year licensing period, 15 of which may be taken by self-study.*

A minimum of 3 of the 30 hours must be in ethics every two year licensing period.

*PDH Academy courses are considered self-study.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Missouri Division of Professional Registration: State Committee for Licensed Social Workers at (573) 751-0293 or http://pr.mo.gov/boards/socialworkers/conteducation.pdf for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

MONTANA SOCIAL WORKERS

PDH Academy is not an approved provider by the Montana Board of Social Work Examiners and Professional Counselors.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LCSWs: Required 20 hours each annual licensing period, all of which may be taken by home study.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Montana Board of Social Work Examiners and Professional Counselors at (406) 841-2369 or http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/Subchapterhome.asp?scn=24.219.21 for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

NEBRASKA SOCIAL WORKERS

The Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services Registration and Licensure Credentialing Division accepts courses from any provider who is ASWB and/or NASW approved.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
CMSWs and CSWs: Required 32 hours every two year licensing period, 20 of which may be taken by home study.*

A minimum of 2 of the 32 hours must be in ethics every two year licensing period.

*PDH Academy courses are considered home study.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services Registration and Licensure Credentialing Division at (402) 471-2117 or http://www.sos.state.ne.us/rules-and-regs/regsearch/Rules/Health_and_Human_Services_System/Title-172/Chapter-094.pdf for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

NEVADA SOCIAL WORKERS

The State of Nevada Board of Examiners for Social Workers accepts courses from any provider who is NASW approved.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LASWs and LSWs: Required 30 hours every two year period, 15 of which may be taken by home study.

A minimum of 2 of the 30 hours must be in ethics every two year period.

LISW and LCSWs: Required 36 hours every two year period, 18 of which may be taken by home study.

A minimum of 3 of the 36 hours must be in ethics every two year period.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact Nevada Board of Examiners for Social Workers at (775) 688-2555 or http://socwork.nv.gov/licensees/Continuing_Education/ for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

NEW HAMPSHIRE SOCIAL WORKERS

The New Hampshire Board of Mental Health Practice accepts courses from any provider who is NASW approved.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LICSWs: Required 40 hours every two year licensing period, 20 of which may be taken by home study.* (Category A)

A minimum of 6 of the 40 hours must be in ethics Category A.

*PDH Academy courses are considered home study. (Category A)

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the New Hampshire Board of Mental Health Practice at (603) 271-6762 or http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rules/state_agencies/mhp400.html for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

NEW JERSEY SOCIAL WORKERS

PDH Academy is NOT an approved provider in New Jersey.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LCSWs: Required 40 hours every two year licensing period, all of which may be taken by home study with half (20 hours) directly related to clinical practice.

A minimum of 5 of the 40 hours must be in ethics and a minimum of 3 of the 40 hours must be in cultural competence.

LSWs: Required 30 hours every two year licensing period, all of which may be taken by home study.

A minimum of 5 of the 30 hours must be in ethics and a minimum of 3 of the 30 hours must be in cultural competence.

CSWs: Required 20 hours every two year licensing period, all of which may be taken by home study.

A minimum of 5 of the 20 hours must be in ethics and a minimum of 3 of the 20 hours must be in cultural competence.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the New Jersey State Board of Social Work Examiners at (973) 504-6495 or http://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/regulations/Chapter-44G-State-Board-of-Social-Work-Examiners.pdf for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

NEW MEXICO SOCIAL WORKERS

The New Mexico Board of Social Work Examiners accepts courses from any provider who is ASWB and/or NASW approved.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LISWs, LBSWs, and LMSWs: Required 30 hours every two year licensing period, all of which may be taken by home study.*

A minimum of 6 of the 30 hours must be in the subject area of cultural awareness.

*PDH Academy courses are considered home study.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the New Mexico Board of Social Work Examiners at (505) 476-4890 or http://www.nmcpr.state.nm.us/nmac/parts/title16/16.063.0012.pdf for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

NEW YORK SOCIAL WORKERS

PDH Academy is NOT approved through New York State Education Department.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
Beginning January 1, 2015, each Licensed Master Social Worker and Licensed Clinical Social Worker must complete 36 hours of approved continuing education courses for each triennial registration period, 12 of which may consist of self-study or one-third of the total hours in registration periods of other lengths.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the New York State Board for Social Work at (518) 474-3817 or http://www.op.nysed.gov/prof/sw/swceinfo.htm for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

NORTH CAROLINA SOCIAL WORKERS

PDH Academy is currently approved by the NASWNC state chapter and therefore our courses are accepted in North Carolina.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LCSWs, CMSWs, CSWMs, and CSWs: Required 40 hours every two year licensing period, 20 of which may be taken by distance learning and home study.*

A minimum of 4 of the 40 hours must be in ethics every two year licensing period.

*PDH Academy courses are considered distance learning and home study.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the North Carolina Social Work Certification and Licensure Board at (800) 550-7009 or http://www.ncswboard.org/page/continuing-education-information for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

NORTH DAKOTA SOCIAL WORKERS

The North Dakota State Board of Social Work Examiners accepts courses from any provider who is ASWB and/or NASW approved.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LICSWs, LCSWs, and LSWs: Required 30 hours every two year licensing period, 10 of which may be taken by distance learning.*

A minimum of 2 of the 30 hours must be in ethics.

*PDH Academy courses are considered distance learning.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the North Dakota State Board of Social Work Examiners at (701) 222-0255 or https://www.ndbswe.com/ce/requirements.asp for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

OHIO SOCIAL WORKERS

The Ohio Counselor, Social Worker, and Marriage & Family Therapists Board accept courses from any provider who is ASWB and/or NASW approved.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LISWs, LSWs, and SWAs: Required 30 hours every two year licensing period, all of which may be taken by home study.*

A minimum of 3 of the 30 hours must be in ethics every two year licensing period.

*PDH Academy courses are considered home study.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Ohio Counselor, Social Worker, and Marriage & Family Therapists Board at (614) 728-7792 or http://cswmft.ohio.gov/Portals/0/pdf/4757%2012-2014.pdf for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

OKLAHOMA SOCIAL WORKERS

The Oklahoma Board of Licensed Social Workers accepts courses from any provider who is ASWB and/or NASW approved.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LCSWs, LMSWs, and LSWAs: Required 16 hours each annual licensing period, of which 8 may be taken by Category III.*

A minimum of 3 of the 16 hours must be in ethics each annual licensing period.

*PDH Academy courses are considered Category III.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Oklahoma Board of Licensed Social Workers at (405) 521-3712 or http://www.ok.gov/socialworkers/documents/Rules&Regs.pdf for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

OREGON SOCIAL WORKERS

The Oregon State Board of Clinical Social Workers accepts providers and courses approved by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW) – National or Local. It is important to remember that the content of all workshops, conferences, social work courses, etc. must be clinical in nature to meet the rule requirement. PDH Academy is a NASW approved provider.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LCSWs: Required 40 hours every two year licensing period, all of which may be taken by home study.*

A minimum of 6 of the 40 hours must be in ethics.

LMSWs: Required 30 hours every two year licensing period, all of which may be taken by home study.*

A minimum of 6 of the 30 hours must be in ethics.

RBSWs: Required 20 hours every two year licensing period, all of which may be taken by home study.*

A minimum of 6 of the 20 hours must be in ethics every two year licensing period.

CSWAs: No continuing education required at this time.

*PDH Academy courses are considered home study.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Oregon State Board of Clinical Social Workers at (866) 355-7050 or http://www.oregon.gov/blsw/Pages/continuinged.aspx for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

PENNSYLVANIA SOCIAL WORKERS

The Pennsylvania State Board of Social Workers, Marriage & Family Therapists, and Professional Counselors accepts courses from any provider who is ASWB and/or NASW approved.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LCSWs and LSWs: Required 30 hours every two year licensing period, 20 of which may be taken by home study.* As of 2014, in accordance with Act 31, all social workers must complete 2 hours of approved child abuse recognition and reporting training every renewal.

A minimum of 3 of the 30 hours must be in ethics and 1 hour in suicide prevention (beginning with 2017-2019 renewal cycle) every two year licensing period.

As a requirement for initial renewal, in accordance with Act 31, all social workers are required to complete 3 hours of approved child abuse recognition and reporting training.

*PDH Academy courses are considered distance home study.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Pennsylvania State Board of Social Workers, Marriage & Family Therapists, and Professional Counselors at (717) 783-1389 or http://www.pacode.com/secure/data/049/chapter47/chap47toc.html for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

RHODE ISLAND SOCIAL WORKERS

The Rhode Island Office of Professional Regulation: Department of Health: Board of Examiners in Social Workers accepts courses from any provider who is ASWB and/or NASW approved.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LICSWs, and LCSWs: Required 30 hours every two year licensing period, 6 of which may be taken by non-contact hours.*

A minimum of 3 of the 30 hours must be in ethics and 3 in cross-cultural practice.

*PDH Academy courses are considered non-contact hours.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Rhode Island Office of Professional Regulation: Department of Health: Board of Examiners in Social Workers at (401) 222-2827 or http://sos.ri.gov/documents/archives/regdocs/released/pdf/DOH/5084.pdf for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

SOUTH CAROLINA SOCIAL WORKERS

The South Carolina Board of Social Work Examiners accepts courses from any provider who is ASWB and/or NASW approved.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LBSWs, LMSWs, LISWs-AP, and LISWs-CP: Required 40 hours every two year licensing period, all of which may be taken by independent home study.*

*PDH Academy courses are considered distance independent home study.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the South Carolina Board of Social Work Examiners at (803) 896-4664 or http://www.llr.state.sc.us/pol/socialworkers/SWAPPS/CEUGuidelines.pdf for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

SOUTH DAKOTA SOCIAL WORKERS

The South Dakota Board of Social Work Examiners accepts courses from any provider who is ASWB and/or NASW approved.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
CSWs, CSWs-PIP, SWs, and SWAs: Required 30 hours every two year licensing period, 10 of which may be taken by distance study.*

*PDH Academy courses are considered distance study.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the South Dakota Board of Social Work Examiners at (605) 642-1600 or http://legis.sd.gov/Rules/DisplayRule.aspx?Rule=20:59:04 for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

TENNESSEE SOCIAL WORKERS

According to the Tennessee Board of Social Work Certification and Licensure, PDH Academy courses are acceptable per rule 1365-01-.09.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LBSWs:

  • For each calendar year, nine (9) hours are required.*
  • Four (4) of the nine (9) hours shall be in social work.
  • Three (3) of the nine (9) hours shall be in professional ethics.
  • Two (2) of the nine (9) hours shall be in either social work or professional ethics.
  • Those licensees who hold more than one (1) category of licensure to practice social work must separately satisfy the continuing education requirements for each level of licensure.

LMSWs:

  • For each calendar year, twelve (12) hours are required.*
  • Seven (7) of the twelve (12) hours shall be in social work.
  • Three (3) of the twelve (12) hours shall be in professional ethics.
  • Two (2) of the twelve (12) hours shall be in either social work or professional ethics.
  • Those licensees who hold more than one (1) category of licensure to practice social work must separately satisfy the continuing education requirements for each level of licensure.

LCSWs and LAPSWs:

  • For each calendar year, fifteen (15) hours are required.*
  • Ten (10) of the fifteen (15) hours shall be in social work.
  • Three (3) of the fifteen (15) hours shall be in professional ethics.
  • Two (2) of the fifteen (15) hours shall be in either social work or professional ethics.
  • Those licensees who hold more than one (1) category of licensure to practice social work must separately satisfy the continuing education requirements for each level of licensure.

*PDH Academy courses are considered multi-media (home study). A maximum of two-thirds (2/3) of a licensee’s credit hours may be taken by multi-media courses.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Tennessee Board of Social Work Certification and Licensure at (615) 532-3202or http://tn.gov/health/article/sw-coedu for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

TEXAS SOCIAL WORKERS

PDH Academy is a Texas State Board of Social Workers approved provider. Provider #7311.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LBSWs, LCSWs, LMSWs, and LMSWs-AP: Required 30 hours every two year licensing period, all of which may be taken by independent study.

A minimum of 6 of the 30 hours must be in ethics every two year licensing period.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Texas State Board of Social Worker Examiners at (800) 232-3162 or http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/socialwork/sw_ceinfo.shtm for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

UTAH SOCIAL WORKERS

The Utah Social Work Licensing Board accepts courses from any provider who is ASWB and/or NASW approved.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LCSWs and CSWs: Required 40 hours every two year licensing period, 15 of which may be taken by distance learning.*

A minimum of 3 of the 40 hours must be in ethics and/or law, and 2 hours must be in suicide prevention every two year licensing period.

SSWs: Required 20 hours every two year licensing period, 15 of which may be taken by distance learning.*

A minimum of 3 of the 20 hours must be in ethics and/or law, and 2 hours must be in suicide prevention every two year licensing period.

*PDH Academy courses are considered distance learning.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Utah Social Work Licensing Board at (866) 275-3675 or http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title58/Chapter60/C58-60_1800010118000101.pdf– suicide prevention or http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r156/r156-60a.htm#T11 for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

VERMONT SOCIAL WORKERS

The Vermont Office of Professional Licensing & Registration accepts courses from any provider who is ASWB and/or NASW approved.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LCSWs: Required 20 hours every two year licensing period, 5 of which may be taken by informal educational activities.*

A minimum of 1.5 of the 20 hours must be in ethics, including such issues as boundaries, confidentiality, and dual relationships.

*PDH Academy courses are considered informal educational activities.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Vermont Office of Professional Licensing & Registration at (802) 828-1505 or https://www.sec.state.vt.us/media/188809/CSW_Rules.pdf for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

VIRGINIA SOCIAL WORKERS

The Virginia Board of Social Work accepts courses from any provider who is ASWB and/or NASW approved.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LCSWs: Required 30 hours every two year licensing period, all of which may be taken by Category 1.*

A minimum of 2 of the 30 hours must be in ethics every two year licensing period.

LSWs: Required 15 hours every two year licensing period, all of which may be taken by Category 1.*

A minimum of 2 of the 15 hours must be in ethics every two year licensing period.

*PDH Academy courses are considered Category 1.

Attention: The Virginia Board of Social Work is transitioning license renewal dates from odd years to even years, please refer to the table below for more information.

 2017 Renewal
CE
2017 Renewal
CE
2017 Renewal
CE
2017 Renewal
CE
Licensed Clinical
Social Worker (LCSW)
30 hours of CE from 07/01/2015 to 06/30/201715 hours of CE from 07/01/2017 to 06/30/2018No CE required to renew license30 hours of CE from 07/01/2018 to 06/30/2020
Licensed
Social Worker (LSW)
15 hours of CE from 07/01/2015 to 06/30/20177.5 hours of CE from 07/01/2017 to 06/30/2018No CE required to renew license15 hours of CE from 07/01/2018 to 06/30/2020

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Virginia Board of Social Work at (804) 367-4441or https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/social/leg/SocialWork_12302015.doc for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

WASHINGTON SOCIAL WORKERS

The Washington Department of Health: Health Professional and Faculties accepts courses from any provider who is ASWB and/or NASW approved.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LICSWs, LSWAs, CSWs, SWIs, and SWAs: Required 36 hours every two year period, 26 of which may be taken by distance learning.*

A minimum of 6 of the 30 hours must be in professional ethics and law every two year licensing period. In addition, a 6-hour course on suicide assessment, treatment and management must be completed every six years. There is a one-time requirement for 4 hours of HIV training.

*PDH Academy courses are considered distance learning.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Washington Department of Health: Health Professional and Faculties at (360) 236-4700 http://www.doh.wa.gov/LicensesPermitsandCertificates/ProfessionsNewReneworUpdate/MentalHealthProfessions.aspx for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

WEST VIRGINIA SOCIAL WORKERS

The West Virginia Board of Social Work permits individuals to take up to 10 hours of approved online coursework which can include courses approved by the National Association of Social Workers. PDH Academy is an approved provider of the NASW.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LCSWs, LICSWs, LGSWs, and LSWs: Required 40 hours every two year period, 20 of which may be taken by self-study.*

*PDH Academy courses are considered self-study.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the West Virginia Board of Social Work Examiners at (304) 558-8816 http://www.wvsocialworkboard.org/CEInfo/ForSocialWorkers/Requirements.aspx#.Us8dqcnTnnF for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

WISCONSIN SOCIAL WORKERS

The Wisconsin Marriage & Family Therapy, Professional Counseling, and Social Work Examining Board accepts courses from any provider who is ASWB and/or NASW approved.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LCSWs, CISWs, CAPSWs, and CSWs: Required 30 hours every two year licensing period, 26 of which may be completed through PDH Academy.

A minimum of 4 hours must be in ethics and must be completed in an interactive learning format. PDH Academy courses may not be used to fulfill the ethics requirement.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Wisconsin Marriage & Family Therapy, Professional Counseling, and Social Work Examining Board at (877) 617-1565 or https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/mpsw/19.pdf for additional information regarding your continuing education.

 

WYOMING SOCIAL WORKERS

The Wyoming Mental Health Professions Licensing Board accepts courses from any provider who is ASWB or NASW approved.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
LCSWs, and CSWs: Required 45 hours every two year licensing period, all of which may be taken by home study.

A minimum of 3 of the 45 hours must be in ethics every two year licensing period.

*PDH Academy courses are considered home study.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact the Wyoming Mental Health Professions Licensing Board at (307) 777-7788 or https://drive.google.com/file/d/0ByqO3l2NzH2SdHI0X0ZZd0M5Zk0/view for additional information regarding your continuing education.