Pennsylvania Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting Continuing Education
All health-related licensees and funeral directors renewing their license are required to complete 2 hours of board approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting.
The following Pennsylvania licensed professionals are required to take the child abuse recognition and reporting course: Chiropractic, Dental, Funeral Directors, Message Therapy, Medical, Nurses, Nursing Home Administrators, Occupational Therapy, Optometry, Osteopathic Medicine, Pharmacy, Physical Therapy, Podiatry, Psychology, Social Work, and Speech Language Pathology.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does this count towards my required continuing education hours?
Yes, if your profession has mandated continuing education requirements, this course will count towards the required hours.
Are my hours reported to the Pennsylvania Board?
Yes, we are required to report your hours to the Pennsylvania Department of State.
Is this course approved by the Pennsylvania Board?
Yes, PDH Academy is a approved by the Pennsylvania Department of State. Click here to view our approval letter.
Why do I have to provide my last 4 digits of my social security number and date of birth?
The state requires us to obtain this information in order to report your hours.
Why do I need this course?
Effective on January 1, 2015, all health-related licensees and funeral directors applying for the renewal of a license issued by the Board shall be required to complete at least 2 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements as a condition of renewal. This was part of Act 31 that was passed into law in 2014.